top of page
Search
  • brookeboes

Useful Apps Abroad

I wanted to give some tips on some apps I have found super useful during my time abroad!



Google Maps:

Although I don't love using google maps for navigating, it is super helpful in the fact that it tells you exactly which forms of public transportation to take to a particular place. If you plug in the address in google maps and click on the directions button and then the public transportation button you can choose what time you want to depart and it will lay out all of the potential options for you. If you click on one of them, it will tell you where you need to transfer, which bus/train/metro to take and what platform it will be on. I find this extremely useful and I honestly don't think I would survive without this feature!


Google Translate:

Google translate has also been a lifesaver for me, especially because I know absolutely zero Dutch. The app has a really great feature where you can take a photo of a sign or label and it will translate it for you. You can also download a language while on wifi and then use the app without using any data when you are out shopping. I rely on this so often, especially when grocery shopping when I can't read labels.


Sky Scanner:

Sky Scanner is a user-friendly app that helps you find the cheapest flights possible. You can put in the airport you want to fly out of, where you want to fly in and it will tell you the cheapest dates to get there. You can also search "everywhere" in the search engine and it will tell you the best place to go based on your location. It is also possible to save a flight you are looking at for the future so you can go back to it and monitor the prices!


Flix Bus:

I have a love/hate relationship with Flix Bus. This company is definitely a lot cheaper way of getting from point A to point B. However, they are not the most reliable bus company. I have had a few issues with them and so have people I have talked to. I would suggest using Flix Bus if you aren't under any time constraints because it will save you a lot of money. If you're trying to catch a flight, however, I would avoid using it.


Uber:

Although Maastricht doesn't have Uber, it is still really useful to have this app when I am traveling. I try and use it as my last resort, because public transportation is so convenient in Europe. But if I am in a confusing city or area or I can't understand the public transportation, using Uber is my best bet!


Rome2rio:

This app lays out how to get from one place to another. For example, I can put in Maastricht as my start point and Paris as my end point, and it will tell me all my options on how to get there. I love this app because sometimes there is no direct route to a specific location and so google maps does not pick up on how to get there and neither does Trainline. Rome2rio will always find a way to map out your journey and you can also buy tickets directly off their app.


Rail Planner:

This is also another useful way of mapping out your journey, however it doesn't provide prices on tickets. This app is simply a way of showing you what trains to take, but you cannot buy tickets off this app. I still find it useful though, and it is good to have on my phone.


Whatsapp:

WhatsApp is a messenger app that allows you to communicate with people without using text or iMessages. I use this app to call my family because I cannot place phone calls to the U.S. from the Netherlands. It has video chats, audio chats, and allows you to send messages and make group chats. Most people in Europe use this app and I would absolutely download it before going abroad and make sure your family has it downloaded as well.


HostelWorld:

This app shows you the cheapest and best hostels for your trips. It shows you the location of the hostels, ratings of them, the price depending on the room, and the availability. Hostels are a really cheap way of finding housing. Of course, with cheap housing has its pros and cons, but if you are trying to save money then I would definitely use them!


I hope this post was helpful in providing guidance on what apps to use abroad!





12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page