top of page
Search
  • brookeboes

Reflecting on My Time Abroad


As my time abroad is shortly coming to an end with less than a month left, I wanted to take some time to reflect on what I've learned by being abroad. First and foremost, I never thought going abroad would be easy. Before coming here, I worried about every single thing: would I make friends, would I be able to navigate the city, would I be able to travel, how will I overcome the language barrier... I could go on and on. It turns out that the little things I was so stressed over, were not as big of a deal as I imagined. Maastricht once seemed so foreign to me that I was afraid to venture out on my own because I thought I would get lost. Now, I know the streets like my own town and even if I get a little lost, I know I can find my way back again. Going abroad is the most out of my comfort zone that I have ever been, and I am still not 100% comfortable with being here. However, I can see how much I have grown as an individual, and for that I am so thankful. Here are some things I have learned over my time abroad:


1. It isn't always rainbows and butterflies.

I remember looking on social media before going abroad and seeing all the past students who had gone before me. All their posts seemed so amazing, it seemed like they were having the time of their lives. Although this might be true for some of them, social media is not a reflection of reality. There are some really tough days when I am homesick, or nothing seems to be going my way. But its times like this that help you realize what the important things are in life and how to focus on the good. Whenever I am feeling sad, I remind myself that this is a once in a life-time opportunity, and that my situation is only temporary.


2. It's okay to ask for help.

People in Europe (for the most part) are super helpful and friendly. In fact, some people will even go out of their way to help you, without you even asking them! I learned that its okay to ask the bus driver if I am on the right bus or to ask a stranger for directions. I even ask for help in the grocery store in Maastricht on a regular basis! You're a stranger in a foreign country, you're not supposed to know everything!


3. Things go wrong... but everything works out in the end.

I can't even count the amount of times there have been issues with transportation, housing, etc. In the moment, I would always freak out. I thought that it was the end of the world. But looking back, I realized that missing a train or having to book a new flight isn't the end of the world. Making mistakes is how you learn and it's all part of the process.


4. No one is going to hold your hand.

Something that is very different in the Dutch culture is that they won't tell you something unless you ask about it. What I mean by this, is that no one showed us how to find our schedules, or how to get to class, etc. If I wanted answers, I had to be the one to ask the questions. Although this was frustrating at first, I think it has helped me become more independent because I am no longer handed information. This is a reflection of how the real world works and I think it has been helpful in preparing me for that.


5. Stop looking ahead, and live in the moment.

I am definitely guilty of being an over-thinker. I am constantly thinking about what I have to do tomorrow, or a week from now, or even months or years. This can get extremely exhausting and overwhelming and takes away from the moment that I am living in now. This is something I am still learning to overcome, but I think being abroad has helped me. We get so caught up in our lives that we forget to take a moment and enjoy where we are now. I hope that by the end of my experience here, I can say that I lived in the moment instead of the past or the future.


 

I hope that you all find new ways of growing when you are abroad too! It is always important to look back on how far you've come!

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page