top of page
Search
  • brookeboes

Oktoberfest: Munich, Germany



If you're in Europe during the fall, going to Oktoberfest is a MUST. Walking the streets of Munich in my dirndl, I couldn't help but laugh at the absurdity of the whole event. A fair of thousands of people from all over the world, coming together to dress up and drink beer and eat pretzels, who wouldn't want to go? The first day we arrived I was in awe at how big the fair was. I didn't know what to expect, but I did not expect all of the carnival rides, food stands, and souvenir shops to be there! We immediately went to the Hofbräuhaus Tent to meet up with all of our friends from Susquehanna. It was so amazing to see my friends after being apart for so long. The tents were insane- hundreds of people crowded into one room, drinking and having fun. The beers come in huge beer steins and cost €12. The waitresses will take your change though if you don't ask for it back, because they work on tips. So be extra careful with how much you're giving them, or you may end up paying the price of 2 beers for 1! The tents were especially fun at night, with live music and everyone dancing and signing on the tables. It was truly a surreal experience!

The next day we decided to explore the fair a little bit more. We started our day with chocolate covered strawberries, which were delicious! We even bought Lebkuchenherz which are gingerbread cookies in the shape of a heart that you can wear around your neck. There are dozens of stands with these cookies hanging in all sizes, each with a different message written on it. I played it safe and got one that said Oktoberfest since I don't speak German. Of course, I got a hot pretzel the size of my head which was amazing. My favorite part was looking at the souvenirs in the little shops. I even bought a beer stein! To end the day I got schnitzel and went on a ride! We decided to go on the swings which gave us an amazing view of the fair. Overall, Oktoberfest was super fun and its a great opportunity to meet up with your friends studying abroad in Europe. Although I didn't stay in a tent overnight, I embraced the whole experience and had a great time!

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page