top of page
Search
  • brookeboes

Exploring Maastricht

This past month I decided to cut back on traveling and spend some time exploring the beautiful city of Maastricht. Although the city is small, there are several hidden things to do and explore that I hadn't had the chance to visit yet. In this post, I will share some of the fun things I did the last few weeks in Maastricht!


 

Torenmolen van Gronsveld, Maastricht



I decided to visit the oldest windmill in Maastricht. It was built in 1623 and is actually considered a Rijksmonument which means it is considered a national heritage site in the Netherlands! It is also the oldest windmill in the Province of Limburg and the most southern windmill in Maastricht! I biked here with my friend and it took about 30 minutes, but was definitely worth it. It was surrounded by beautiful fields and apple trees and cornfields with a long bike path that we rode through.


 

Bonnefantenmuseum



I pass by the Bonnefantenmuseum everyday on my way to class and was always curious what the building was because it is so peculiar looking. I decided to do some research and found out it is a museum of artwork designed by an Italian architect named Aldo Rossi. The museum has a lot of different types of art, from paintings, to sculptures, to pottery and tapestries. I was able to get in for free using my student museum card that I received from Maastricht! I'm so glad I can pass by the building now and know exactly what it is!


 

Sint Janskerk, Bookstore Dominicanen, and Pancakes!

I had a friend visiting from Amsterdam this day and so we started the day with breakfast at Preps Cafe. I had delicious vegan pancakes with banana and chocolate sauce that were to die for! With our stomachs full, we were able to take on Sint Janskerk which is a 17th-century Gothic Church that has been on the top of my list of places to visit in Maastricht. The red tower stands out above the rest because of its vibrant color. For €2.50 you can climb the tower which consists of 250 steps up a spiral staircase (top left picture for reference). Although the climb was a bit claustrophobic and tiring, it was worth it for the amazing view of Maastricht. It was so cool to see the entire city from so high up and identity landmarks to my friend. You also have a perfect view of the Vrijthof which is right underneath the tower! We climbed back down the spiral stairs and made our way to one of the most famous bookstores in Europe known as Book Store Dominicanen. Why is it so famous? It's in a medieval church (bottom left picture)! I've been in this bookstore at least 5 times now, and each time it gets more beautiful. I like to wander in and look at their souvenirs. They also have a coffeeshop where many students like to go and do homework! I would say it was a successful day!


 

FunValley Maastricht


Finally to end my Maastricht adventures, my friends and I took advantage of the last sunny day in Maastricht to visit a place called FunValley. After biking for a little over 30 minutes we finally arrived at the park which has a beautiful lake with lots of grills and picnic tables. We brought burgers and snacks and grilled ourselves dinner while enjoying the beautiful view. This was a fun little getaway from the cobblestone streets of Maastricht to the sandy beach. In the summer there is more to do here, but we made the most of it and I had a great time!

 

I hope that this encourages anyone coming to Maastricht to explore the city and all that it has to offer. This is just a short snippet of the many things I plan to do during my time here, and I can't wait to keep exploring my home for the semester!


17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page